Skip to content

For centuries, the Scottish landscape has provided artists with a potent source of inspiration. From scenes of mountains and forests to images of lochs and coastlines, the natural world attracts a range of creative responses. Urban views of towns and cities prompt equally varied interpretations, as artists explore how people have shaped their surroundings. Today our relationship with the landscape has taken on further significance, with environmental concerns over climate change and loss of biodiversity.

Shifting Vistas: 250 Years of Scottish Landscape addresses this ever-evolving subject, with a selection of historic and contemporary artworks drawn from the City Art Centre’s permanent collection of fine art. Spanning artistic production from the 18th century to present day, it includes paintings, drawings, prints and sculptures by artists such as Alexander Nasmyth, John Lavery, SJ Peploe, William Gillies, Joan Eardley, Victoria Crowe, Frances Walker and Kate Downie. The exhibition also features several recent additions to the collection, on display for the first time.

Events programme

LECTURES AND TALKS

Thursday 21 September, 2pm - Scottish Landscapes: A New Generation - In Conversation with Siobhan McLaughlin

Thursday 25 January, 2pm - Seeking the Permanent in Nature: The Landscapes of William Gillies RSA 

Friday 2 February, 2pm - Wilhelmina Barns-Graham: A Life Through Landscape

Tuesday 6 February, 2pm - Keynote Victoria Crowe Lecture part 1 - Landscape: Within and Without

Friday 16 February , 2pm - Jon Schueler’s Paintings: An Encounter with Scotland

Wednesday 24 April, 2pm - Keynote Victoria Crowe Lecture, part 2: The Early Years at Kittyknowe (details tbc)

Saturday 1 June, 2pm - Keynote talk by Susan Mansfield: In Search of Joan Eardley in Glasgow and Catterline

 

FAMILY CRAFT WORKSHOPS

Sunday  17 December, 2pm - 4pm - Winter Wonderland Christmas Crafts

 

ONLINE TALKS

Thursday 8 February, 7pm - Curator’s Tour of ‘Shifting Vistas: 250 Years of Scottish Landscape’

 

ADULT CREATIVE WORKSHOPS

Sunday 28 January, 10.30am - 3.30pm - From Rocks to Azure Blue Seas

Saturday 10 February, 10.30am - 3.30pm - Scottish Folk Art Embroidery Workshop with Karen Thomson

 

General Events Celebrating Landscape

LECTURES AND TALKS

Friday 17 November, 2pm - Wish you were here

Friday 8 December, 2pm - Winter Wonderlands: Seasonal Landscapes from the National Galleries of Scotland

 

ADULT CREATIVE WORKSHOPS

Saturday 17 February, 10.30am - 3.30pm - Paper Forests: Paper Sculpture Day

 

FASHION SHOWS

Saturday 24 February, 1pm and 2pm - Our annual student fashion shows inspired by our winter exhibitions

 

 

Shifting Vistas: 250 Years of Scottish Landscape. A described viewing.

Shifting Vistas: 250 Years of Scottish Landscape

An artwork featuring wild sea and cliffs

Scottish Landscape Awards

Sat 4 Nov 2023 to Sun 3 Mar 2024 The City Art Centre is thrilled to host Scotland’s newest open call in contemporary art - Scottish Landscape Awards. The inaugural exhibition of the... More info
Deep Rooted

Deep Rooted

Sat 18 Nov 2023 to Sun 25 Feb 2024

Dalziel + Scullion, Anya Gallaccio, Andy Goldsworthy, Andrew Mackenzie, Naomi Mcintosh, Katie Paterson, Hanna Tuulikki

Deep Rooted is a group exhibition featuring work by eight contemporary artists - Dalziel + Scullion, Anya Gallaccio, Andy Goldsworthy, Andrew...

Archived event

This is an archive page for a past event

Find out what's happening now and upcoming in our What's on section.

More info