About

Lauriston Castle in the snow from across the pondThe Castle had three periods of construction. The oldest part is the Tower House or ‘Scottish Keep’, built in about 1593 for the Napier family.  A two-storey extension was added between 1824-27 by the Architect William Burn.  The Library, built over the servants wing, was added in the 1870s. 

A tour of the Castle includes the principal rooms, from Mr Reid’s well-equipped Study to the elegant Drawing room. See the beautiful Dining room and Library, and marvel at the modern Edwardian Bathroom. When possible the Kitchen will be opened to offer an interesting contrast between life ‘upstairs’ and ‘downstairs’.

The Castle was beautifully decorated by the last owner, Mr W R Reid, between 1902 and 1919.  See his stunning collections of Blue John, a fluorspar mineral, found only in Derbyshire; sumptuous Eastern carpets and rugs; intricate line engravings and mezzotints; Crossley wool mosaics, mass-produced tapestry-like pictures; and southern Italian furniture.  The collections were put together with great care to create a most elegant and comfortable home.

The Castle is set within an historic garden laid out by William Henry Playfair in the 1840s.  Overlooking the Firth of Forth and Cramond Island,  the views from the garden are magnificent. The recent award winning Japanese Friendship garden, gifted by the prefecture of Kyoto, is a tranquil place to contemplate.

More on the history of the Castle